Reflecting this week-sorry no rock and roll!

     So, I thought I was pretty tech savvy and applying what I new about technology to my leadership philosophy and actions…and then I took the course and interacted with each enrolled with me, our professor, and our readings and realized I knew much less than I thought. I have a blog, just to name the first innovation!

 

   Without belaboring this, I am more than ever committed to the idea that the cycle of technological innovation has always been part of humanity, but the cycle of change has now accelerated to a point where it seems a major challenge just to remain up to date much less anticipatory. Our world continues to wirearchically organize more prolifically and ubiquitously. Conventional thought, norms, laws, and organizing principles seem challenged at best in this environment.

 

  Enter the role of leaders and leadership in this brave new world. Leadership, as always, is the key. It is the role of leaders to provide both vision and direction, consistent with values yet incorporating technological innovation, to their organization in order to drive it to sustained success. It is leaders who have to consistently inspire and lead by example in bringing technology to enable actions rather than be led or constrained by it. It is leaders who must ensure that their subordinates retain freedom of action based on a climate of trust to act using technology rather than trying to control every activity.

 

  I don’t know enough about how to do this….yet. But I feel better armed now to ask the better questions and give better guidance based on our journey over the past several weeks.  Thanks….

5 thoughts on “Reflecting this week-sorry no rock and roll!

  1. Don’t know the answers…that makes two of us! But asking better questions…that is a great goal for any leader. I hope this course has accomplished that…and I know I learned much from all of you.

    Best of luck in your academic journey and future. I am now part of your network, so feel free to call / tweet / link if I can help.

  2. The first principal that I ever worked for frequently used the phrase, change is inevitable, growth is optional. There is no doubt that leadership is key. However, your reflection has sparked a very interesting question. Given that technology evolves at such a rapid rate, how do leaders lead in a way that provides organizational sustainability?
    Finally, I appreciate your thoughts on leaders being leaders. It is our job to innovate and lead technology initiatives, not be led by them. Great point and thought that I need to personally spend sometime reflecting on.

  3. I think you do a great job of summing up the critical facets of leadership in the last paragraph with the words Inspire, Climate of Trust, Freedom of Action, Lead by Example, and Provide Vision and Direction. Yet not becoming slaves to technological changes or policy pigeon holing.

    Definitely some great takeaways and worthy of further thought and action.

  4. Great point! Knowing how to ask better questions helps us to understand on a different level. It leads us to understanding. This applies to seeking the right innovations for our organizations. The quest for technology that enhances job functions of employees and the overall performance of organizations.

  5. To: Will
    From: NotSocrates

    I think your right about how the world constant changes and reorganizes organically in this day and age. It is tough to keep up. Leadership is indeed the key, and our leadership paradigm has shifted from command and control to influence. As leaders, that makes our job that much more difficult. However, I do think your right that we need to lead by example, inspire and utilize technology to enable our actions, and I would argue our interactions. Technology must be something that supplements and improves our human interactions, not something that inhibits them or reduces them. It will be interesting to see if that really happens.

Leave a comment